Posted in bigotry, bugaboos, community, empath life, faith, history, life, peace, politics, society

3/13: Anger and Society, Part Two

On Tuesday, I wrote about this guy I saw on the train whose whole body seemed filled with this anger, this rage about … something. I mentioned it to my therapist yesterday and she asked me how it made me think about my own anger. I did address that a bit in the blog post, but I felt I needed to say more.

On social media and while walking around town, I see anger. I feel it as well. I also see and feel the palpable fear of what might happen politically. The sheer disregard by some politicians (and those playing in the presidential sandbox) of the people they serve, those who voted (whether we voted for THEM or not, they still serve us). It comes from every corner of society. Hate crimes and violence are on the rise. Tempers flare over the smallest things… and some of the bigger things.

That man on the train, in his own weird way, embodies the political climate. Looking for a fight, looking to beat someone else up, kill, harm, you name it. As far as I can tell right now, we have less ambassadors on the ground in countries where we need to be. I’ve heard nothing of P45 appointing ambassadors to fill the gaps. Maybe it has been done, but I don’t think it has. Having ambassadors would mean having someone in place to help bridge the gap in foreign relations. In other words, quell the fears and build trust… maybe even a little peace-talking. Communication. Words, not bombs.

But P45 and his cronies want to make things “go boom” regardless of who gets hurt along the way.

So what can I do? What can others like me do? We can use OUR words. If they choose to try silencing us, I’d love to see them try. I may speak softly, but my stick is bigger than P45’s dick by a mile, and I’d love to see his goons try.

The guy on the train is a symbol of the mentality of war. One lone man who just wants to do harm. On the grander scale, it’s frightening. While one man with a gun or two can do a lot of damage, what he embodies can do much, much more.

So, what do we do? 

What is your talent? Are you an artist? A writer like me? A photographer? What is it that you love doing that you could put to good use?

For me, it’s my words. Yes, I draw and am a photographer as well, but my words… that is the one place I feel I have the most power. I can use my poetry and fiction, and my blog… all to help try to make sense of what’s going on around us and find a way to nourish a world community of peace, respect, and understanding of all of those around us.

There was one thing I didn’t get a chance to mention due to time during my interview on Tuesday. I was on the final round, talking with the man in charge of that department. We swapped book ideas. I told him about Thich Nhat Hanh’s Jesus and Buddha as Brothers, and he suggested to me Black Elk Speaks. This trade of info started because I chose to disclose my faith (it’s a religious company… won’t go into what company) as an Omniest. I explained to him what that was (many people don’t know) and that’s how the book name trade got going (I really hope I get this job). We talked about how we have so much in common between all world faiths.

What I didn’t get to mention was how people forget that the name Allah that is most commonly associated with Islam is really another name for God, the same God Christians worship. The same God of Judaism. All three -Judaism, Christianity, and Islam- are all Abrahamic religions. They follow the same history. If you open a Koran, you see OT and NT in brief in the beginning. The name Allah is not solely an Islamic word, but is Arabic for God. Christians who live and worship in predominately Muslim (as in Middle Eastern) countries also call Him Allah, as that’s the word for God in their language.

You can hate me or unfollow my blog for a number of reasons. My swearing, my views on faith and religion, my empathy toward the vast majority of Muslims who are mis-judged by those who hate. Go ahead, hate me as well. But I will still be here trying to promote peace as Jesus taught. At my core, my faith is that of Christianity, but as an Omniest, I look at other world faiths and examine their core belief structure. Many have quite a few similarities. One of which is what I’ll end this post with. It is worded differently between the different faiths, but the meaning is the same:

Do unto others, as you would have done unto you.

In more modern English: Treat others as you wish to be treated.

~Amanda

Author:

Creative Geek Of All Trades. Do you really need me to explain that one?