Posted in activism, asexuality, bigotry, community, crowdfunding, dragon, empath life, life, Personal, politics

4/8: The Calm Response & #crowdfunding

#crowdfunding still… any and all help… share my posts around (preferably the ones that go into the reason for crowdfunding… such as this one: 3/6: #Crowdfunding to Keep My Belongings or this: 3/3: Another shameless #crowdfunding post)

The 6th was a bad day overall… so my Dragon side got sassy last night. Anyone offended, I’m sorry, but it’s something I deal with. On the 6th, I had to deal with a few idiots on FB who just couldn’t see past their own wannabe-manly egos and learn something from a “female” who actually is what they’re arguing about. I stand up for those who hide their sexuality -Ace or otherwise- because of bigotry and ignorance.

I’m almost grateful my mother was lingering in the moderate stages of Alzheimer’s when I realized I was asexual. She was never tolerant of differences such as those. I don’t know what she would have said or done, but the word ‘freak’ might have be uttered if she were more aware.

Whenever articles make it into the mainstream about asexuality, we get jerks like the ones I dealt with. People who make broad assumptions and stand by them, even as those of us who are Ace try to help those who are confused understand. That’s why I’m so vocal about it. I want people to understand asexuality so they don’t make asinine statements. It’s been just over 7 years since I figured it out. I’ve dealt with far too much ignorance and bigotry. I’ve known other Aces who were treated as lesbians in their culture and were attacked and “corrective rape” took place. First, as a rape survivor, that won’t do any good. But I won’t go into all that. I covered the reasons why in the previous post.

And then, as an empath, I felt a lot of rage (my own as well as of others) about the missile attack. It bothered me that they sent so many missiles and yet so little damage and nothing immediately in response. Yesterday, it was discovered why. I’ve chalked this up to a little -yet-pricey- wargame. Nothing was accomplished. And since some planes were able to take off from that very base/airstrip…. I wonder what those missiles actually hit? Certainly not the airstrip. It was all for show. My own feelings are no longer of anger but of disgust. I don’t think P45 has done his homework at all. I don’t think he even cares. It’s all a game to him.

Until later… I have to fight off cold number 3 and a toothache/headache and be healthy enough to go to my interview Tuesday.

~Amanda

Author:

Creative Geek Of All Trades. Do you really need me to explain that one?