Posted in Personal

Grad School Dragon

Sometimes, it’s hard to admit you can’t do what you expect to do. My determination to finish school by December is my latest. I’ll be taking an extra term. Adding a class this term will be too much, especially if I get a good paying FT job. So the process will go as follows:

  1. I’m dropping the Capstone this term and will pick it back up Spring 2017. This allows me to focus on my re-take of the one core class, which does have two class weekends. I can’t avoid it at this point. Also, I’ll be able to focus more of my time on the one elective, which, despite its name (Bibliographic and Research Methods in Archives), is looking to be an interesting -dare I say it, fun- class.
  2. I’ll pick my Capstone back up in Spring along with two 2 credit classes (Capstone is 1). This will fulfill my electives needs for getting the certificate as well as my degree.

I won’t get much of a break. If I get into the program in Germany, I’ll be high-tailing it there mid to late summer 2017.

I think, in hindsight, some of the issues stem from my stubbornness to ask my professors for help…. as well as letting them know what’s going on. Maybe because it’s a mostly remote program… I don’t feel as connected to the professors. Thus I don’t talk to them about the issues I’m having.

In my last post, I alluded to a brain fog. Could this be depression? Could it be stress bearing down on me due to a lack of progress with job hunting and such? Still some mourning over my dad?

I honestly don’t know. I feel I’ve had to hit the ground running with no chance to stop and truly grieve for my dad. He was my rock in so many ways. I could talk to him about anything.

But there’s more going on. I really wish I knew a good doctor to talk to who would listen and help me figure out what to do. What might be wrong? Rule out physical illnesses. Figure it out. But most around here that I’ve dealt with just don’t know what to do with someone like me.

So, I won’t be finishing up this year. I need to slow down and just manage what I can. I need to get my health in check as well. As well as finding work.

More to come…

~Dragon

Author:

Creative Geek Of All Trades. Do you really need me to explain that one?