Posted in Personal, student life

Graduation Day looms

I was the one who beat the odds.

I wasn’t expected to finish high school, whether it was dropping out or suicide that would keep my HS diploma from me.

I still finished. When the odds were against me.

Then I did more than that. I got my Associate of Arts in General Education (the fastest way for me to finish the school to escape a nasty person who was still there). Then I earned my Bachelor of Arts in English with a minor in Music.

Then I took some time off from being a student (15 years), lived life, moved around, started a second BA (but hit the cap on undergrad financial aid), but took a year off after having to stop the second BA. In August of 2014, I started the MLIS in Archives program with Emporia State University. Mostly online with some weekends for core classes, I’ve been working at it since then. Dad passed away a month before my first semester ended.

I can’t say life has been easy since then. It certainly hasn’t. But I’ve been doing the best I can.

And now I’m walking the stage in two months. August 14th. I still have one more semester because I’m getting the graduate certificate in Archives Studies on top of the MLIS.

I wrote a post a week or so ago detailing more of the journey. Namely why donning the cap and gown and walking the stage is so important to me.

If you had told my 16-year-old self I’d get my Master’s Degree, she would’ve laughed her ass off and told you that you were lying.

Yet, here I am.

Join me. If you’re on my FB friend’s list and want to attend, let me know there.

~Penguin

Author:

Creative Geek Of All Trades. Do you really need me to explain that one?